The Henry Smith Charity has 13 Trustees.

Trustees are nominated by the Archbishop of Canterbury. The Board of Trustees meets quarterly, as do the two Distribution Committees which take decisions on applications to the Main Grants Programme and other funds.

Our Trustees are as follows:

David Allam

David was a solicitor in the private and public sector. He has been a school and FE College Governor, a Director of an NHS Trust and has been involved in several local charities as an Officer and Trustee. He is the former Chair of the Board of Trustees at Sussex Community Foundation.

He formerly served as High Sheriff of East Sussex and remains one of its Deputy Lieutenants. He is a Liveryman of the Fletchers Company and a Patron of several Sussex charities.

David has been a Trustee since 2014.

Bridget Biddell

Bridget qualified as a rural property Chartered Surveyor after reading Land Economy at Cambridge University and spent her professional career with Cluttons and Smiths Gore. She is a farming partner of The Hampton Estate Farms where she takes a very active role in all aspects of the estate.

Bridget is a Trustee of The Community Foundation for Surrey and a Trustee of the Country Land and Business Association (CLA) Charitable trust. She has held many offices within the CLA including Chairmanship of two national policy subcommittees and is currently President of the CLA in Surrey. She will be High Sheriff of Surrey in 2019-2020.

Bridget has been a Trustee since 2011.

Bella Colgrain

Bella is a partner in a family farm and property enterprise. She is a Deputy Lieutenant for Kent and has worked in the voluntary sector for over 20 years, primarily with Citizens Advice Bureaux.

She currently runs the Money Advice Project for an inner-London Citizens Advice Bureau and for twelve years was a Trustee of the Kent Community Foundation, serving also as Chair.

Bella has been a Trustee since 2014.

Vivienne Dews

Vivienne was a Civil Servant for nearly 40 years. She was Executive Director and then Chief Executive of the Office of Fair Trading until its closure in 2014. Her early career was in the Home Office, much of that working on Immigration issues.

She moved from policy advice to leading large executive operations, and then into finance and other support services – becoming a qualified accountant. She was Chief Executive of the Police Information Technology Organisation, and later Director of Resources and Planning at the Health and Safety Executive.

Vivienne has been a member of Mencap’s Audit Committee. Her other charity roles include Honorary Treasurer of the Charity for Civil Servants, Trustee of Independent Age and Trustee of Young Epilepsy where she also Chairs the Education Governing Body. She has been a School Governor and recently stepped down as Chair of the governing body of a large nursery & infant school.

Vivienne has been a trustee since 2014.

Piers Feilden

Piers was Founder and Managing Director of a cheese manufacturing business based in the South-West.

He is Chair of Homeless Link, the umbrella body for the homelessness sector, and a Trustee of Langley House Trust, a prisoner rehabilitation charity providing hostel accommodation across England.

Piers has been a Trustee since 2014.

Emir Feisal

Emir is a Consultant specialising in transformational change. The majority of his career was spent at the Sunday Times as Associate Managing Editor of this leading Sunday Paper. 

He is a Magistrate for the Central London Bench for both the adult and family Courts. He is also a Commissioner for the Judicial Appointment Commission, which selects candidates for judicial office in Courts and tribunals.

Emir sits on a number of Boards to include Lambeth Clinical Commissioning Group and the Honours Committee. In the recent past he has sat on the Boards of London Metropolitan University and The Royal Parks Agency amongst others.

Emir has been a Trustee since 2014.

Miko Giedroyc

Miko was an investment banker for 20 years, his last few years as Director of Deutsche Bank Securities, in charge of European Equity Research.

He was a co-founder of New Philanthropy Capital in 2001, and has held a number of voluntary advisory roles for charities.

Miko has been a Trustee since 2007.

Paul Hackwood

Paul is Executive Director of Church Urban Fund. He is also Executive Director of the Near Neighbours programme which promotes integration, and good social relations.

While Vicar of Thornbury in Bradford he established the Thornbury Centre, a Church-based multicultural community centre and social enterprise, and the Peaceworks initiative, working to bring people of different faiths together.

He has been an Independent Member of West Yorkshire Police Authority and a Non-Executive Director of the Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland PCT.

Paul has been a Trustee since 2014.

James Horden

James has over 25 years’ experience in investment management, working at Mercury Asset Management, as Head of European, EAFE and Global Specialist Strategies at Goldman Sachs Asset Management and as a main board Director at Dalton Strategic Partners.

He is a Member of the Investment Advisory Panel of the Royal College of Physicians, a Director of the Salters Management Company and a Director of the Corporate Trustee Company of South Kensington Estates.

James has been a Trustee since 2012.

Vivian Hunt

Vivian is the Managing Partner of McKinsey & Company’s UK and Ireland offices. She previously led the firm’s Pharmaceutical & Medical Products practice in EMEA and continues to provide strategic advice to leading British firms in the private, public and social sectors. In addition to her client responsibilities, Vivian is a leader within the firm on leadership and diversity and has co-authored several reports.

She sits on the board of several business groups including the CBI London Council and the Mayor’s Business Advisory Board. She also serves as Chair of the Prince of Wales’ BITC ‘Seeing is Believing’ programme as well as on the board of several UK charities, including Action on Addiction and Teach First’s Business Leaders Council. In 2018, Vivian was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire for services to the economy and women in business.

Vivian has been a Trustee since 2010.

Noel Manns (Acting Chairman)

Noel was a co-founder of Europa Capital, a pan European real estate fund manager. Previously he was a shareholding Director at Richard Ellis (now CBRE) and a Director of a Bank of England subsidiary.

He is a former Chairman of The Conservative Party’s National Property Advisory Committee, a former member of the Boards of INREV and The Investment Property Forum and is an advisor to The Diocese of London on property matters. He is a Trustee of several charities and a Governor of Haberdashers’ Monmouth Schools.

Noel has been a Trustee since 2005.

Patrick Maxwell

Patrick is a Partner in Sutton Place Managers LLP, providing private equity investment management services to various entities connected with the Getty family. He also manages the Wormsley Estate in Buckinghamshire.

He is a former Trustee of the Royal Ballet School, and a Trustee of Fuserna Foundation, Sutton Place Foundation and Africa Foundation; charitable entities associated with the Getty family.

Patrick has been a Trustee since 2010.

Anna McNair Scott

Anna is a Hampshire County Councillor, working in Children’s and Adult Services and chairing the Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee. At present she chairs the Culture and Communites Select Committee and serves on the Policy and Resources Committee.

She is a former Chair of the Advisory Council for an Oxford College, and has been very involved with the field of dyslexia support. Anna was a Trustee of the Dyslexia Educational Trust and chaired a National Appeal. She is also a Trustee of a number of other charities.

Anna has been a Trustee since 2007.